LibGuides: HIS205 Early Modern Europe, 1350-1660 : Reference Sources

Reference Books

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
Call Number: R 700.9 A7927
The Christopher Columbus Encyclopedia
Call Number: R 970.015 C556
Daily Life Through World History in Primary Documents
Call Number: R 909 D1337
Encyclopedia of European Social History
Call Number: R 306.094 E563
Encyclopedia of Exploration
Call Number: R 910.3 W1643 e
Encyclopedia of the Black Death
Call Number: R 614.5732 B9556 e
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation
Call Number: R 940.2103 B4984 e 2004
Encyclopedia of Tudor England
Call Number: R 942.05 E564
The Encyclopedia of Witches, Witchcraft, and Wicca
Call Number: R 133.43 G9564 e, 2008
Europe, 1450-1789
Call Number: R 940.2 E894
Great Events from History, Renaissance & Early Modern Era
Call Number: R 909.5 G7863
Great Lives from History, Renaissance & Early Modern Era
Call Number: R 920.00903 G7865
Historical Dictionary of the British Monarchy
Call Number: E-book
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
Call Number: R 940.2103 C1878 o
Renaissance and Reformation
Call Number: R 940.21 R393
Routledge Companion to the Tudor Age
Call Number: R 942.05 O226 r 2010

Online Reference Sources

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
Britannica Online - Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of Encyclopedia Britannica.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Online version of 60-volume set. Over 57,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003.
Over 57,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Updated three times a year.
History Database Center This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies, subject entries, chronologies, primary sources, maps and charts, and images for American History, World History, American Women's History, African American History and Culture, American Indian History and Culture, and Ancient History and Culture.

Salem History
Includes the complete content of Great Lives from History and Great Events from History.

Reference Research Tips

Begin your research by using either the print reference collection on the main floor of the Library or one of the reference databases. A reference source will give you a broad overview of your subject. Use the table of contents or index to find articles with information on your topic. Also, see if the article has a bibliography, which can give you some great leads to other sources.