Skip to main content

Kahn Reference Guide: The Design of the Library: Books (Authors H-K)

A Guide to Kahn's Academy Library Building

  Books testtesttest A-H

Barford, George. Understanding Modern Architecture. Worcester,
     MA: Davis Publications, Inc., 1986 (p. 120).
          A brief description and one photograph of the Library.

Bednar, Michael J. The New Atrium. New York: McGraw-Hill,
     1986 (pp. 172-173).
          A discussion of the atrium of the Library and its relation to the building
          as a whole. Illustrations, plans, section.

Brown, Jack Perry. Louis I. Kahn: a Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1987.
          Writings by and about Louis Kahn, arranged chronologically.

Close, Gloria W. "The Library of Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter, New
     Hampshire, 1967-1972." Louis I. Kahn Bibliography. Architectural Series:
     Bibliography A-190.  Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1980 (p. 10).
          An extensive bibliography of all sources by and about Kahn, with a section on
          specific works. The section on the Library is a selective listing of journal articles
          which includes some non-English language articles.

Drexler, Arthur. "Louis Kahn." In Transformations in Modern Architecture.
     New York: Museum of Modern Art, 1979 (pp. 102-105).
          Includes a short discussion of the Library and dining hall, "compositions of
          great refinement using the simplest means...."

Futagawa, Yukio, and Romaldo Giurgola. Indian Institute of Management,
     Ahmedabad, India, 1963-, Exeter Library, Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter,
     New Hampshire, U.S.A., 1972
. Edited and photographed by Yukio Futagawa;
     text by Romaldo Giurgola. Tokyo: A.D.A. Edita Tokyo, 1975 (GA Global
     Architecture, 35).
          A brief description and evaluation of the building, with fine photographs and
          plans. In Japanese and English.

Giurgola, Romaldo, and Jaimini Mehta. "Library and Dining Hall, Phillips Exeter Academy,
     Exeter, New Hampshire, 1967-1972." In Louis I. Kahn. Boulder, CO: Westview Press,
     1975 (pp. 90-93).
          Chiefly illustrations and diagrams with brief descriptions.

Huxtable, Ada Louise. "Louis Kahn: Exeter Library." In Kicked a Building Lately?
     New York: Quadrangle/New York Times Book Co., 1976 (pp. 95-98).
          This essay is a slightly condensed version of the news story in The New York
          Times
of Oct. 23,1972, which is described below.

  Books (Authors H-K)

Hawkes, Dean. The Environmental Imagination. London and New York: 
      Routledge, 2008 (pp. 95-96; 106-107).
            
A description of the Library and its place in the tradition of library architecture.


Huxtable, Ada Louise. "Louis Kahn: Exeter Library." In Kicked a Building Lately?

     New York: Quadrangle/New York Times Book Co., 1976 (pp. 95-98).
          This essay is a slightly condensed version of the news story in The New York
          Times, 23 October 1972, pp.23-24.

Jordy, William H. Symbolic Essence and Other Writings on Modern Architecture...
     New Haven/London: Yale University Press, 2005 (pp. 254-260).

          A description of the Library with the central hall described as an 
          "extravagant emptiness."

Kahn, Louis I. The Louis I. Kahn Archive: Personal Drawings: the Completely
     Illustrated Catalogue of the Drawings in the Louis I. Kahn Collection, University
     of Pennsylvania and Pennsylvania Historical Society and Museum
     Commission
.
Vol 4. New York: Garland, 1987 (pp. 382-453).
          Kahn's drawings and sketches for the Academy Library.

Kahn, Louis I. What Will Be Has Always Been: the Words of Louis I. Kahn.
     Ed. Richard S. Wurman. New York: Access Press and Rizzoli, 1986
     (pp. 178-183).

          Comments on the Library by Kahn, reprinted from various other sources.

"Kahn, Louis I." The Britannica Encyclopedia of American Art. Chicago:
     Encyclopaedia Britannica Educational Corp., 1973 (pp. 315-316).
          A brief mention which includes the phrase "a monumental piece of 'jewelry'
          architecture. . ."

"Kahn, Louis I." Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects. Vol 2. New York: Free
     Press, 1982 (pp. 537-546).
          Discusses the Library as an example of Kahn's treatment of the corners of
          buildings.

Kohane, Peter. "Louis I. Kahn's Search for Form: Public and Private Realms in the
     Washington University and Phillips Exeter Academy Libraries."
     In Kahn Libraries=Kahn Bibliotecas. Barcelona: Publicacinos del Col.Legi
     d'Arquitectes de Catalunya, 1989 (pp. 72-131).

           A study of the unbuilt library project for Washington University of 1956, 
          and Phillips Exeter Academy library. Text in English and Spanish.

View of Roof Support

Brian Crowley