Barford, George. Understanding Modern Architecture. Worcester,
MA: Davis Publications, Inc., 1986 (p. 120).
A brief description and one photograph of the Library.
Bednar, Michael J. The New Atrium. New York: McGraw-Hill,
1986 (pp. 172-173).
A discussion of the atrium of the Library and its relation to the building
as a whole. Illustrations, plans, section.
Brown, Jack Perry. Louis I. Kahn: a Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1987.
Writings by and about Louis Kahn, arranged chronologically.
Close, Gloria W. "The Library of Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter, New
Hampshire, 1967-1972." Louis I. Kahn Bibliography. Architectural Series:
Bibliography A-190. Monticello, IL: Vance Bibliographies, 1980 (p. 10).
An extensive bibliography of all sources by and about Kahn, with a section on
specific works. The section on the Library is a selective listing of journal articles
which includes some non-English language articles.
Drexler, Arthur. "Louis Kahn." In Transformations in Modern Architecture.
New York: Museum of Modern Art, 1979 (pp. 102-105).
Includes a short discussion of the Library and dining hall, "compositions of
great refinement using the simplest means...."
Futagawa, Yukio, and Romaldo Giurgola. Indian Institute of Management,
Ahmedabad, India, 1963-, Exeter Library, Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter,
New Hampshire, U.S.A., 1972. Edited and photographed by Yukio Futagawa;
text by Romaldo Giurgola. Tokyo: A.D.A. Edita Tokyo, 1975 (GA Global
A brief description and evaluation of the building, with fine photographs and
plans. In Japanese and English.
Giurgola, Romaldo, and Jaimini Mehta. "Library and Dining Hall, Phillips Exeter Academy,
Exeter, New Hampshire, 1967-1972." In Louis I. Kahn. Boulder, CO: Westview Press,
1975 (pp. 90-93).
Chiefly illustrations and diagrams with brief descriptions.
Huxtable, Ada Louise. "Louis Kahn: Exeter Library." In Kicked a Building Lately?
New York: Quadrangle/New York Times Book Co., 1976 (pp. 95-98).
This essay is a slightly condensed version of the news story in The New York
Times of Oct. 23,1972, which is described below.
Tyng, Alexandra. Beginnings: Louis I. Kahn's Philosophy of Architecture.
New York: Wiley, 1984 (pp. 51-52).
Plan, section and photographs of the Library accompany a brief description.
Vivoni-Farage, Enrique. A Measure of Silence: Louis I. Kahn and the
Transformation of the Wall. Ann Arbor, MI: University Microfilms, 1985
(pp. 131-145). Ph.D. dissertation, University of Pennsylvania, 1985.
The plan of the Library is discussed as a case study of Kahn's approach;
includes illustrations and plans.
Wiggins, Glenn E. Louis I. Kahn: the Library at Phillips Exeter Academy.
New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1997.
Good photographs and drawings; includes a CD-ROM with a virtual tour
of the Library.
Wiseman, Carter. Louis I. Kahn: Beyond Time and Style: A Life in
Architecture. New York: W. W. Norton, 2007 (pp. 180-205).
The Library is discussed in chapter seven, "A Temple for Learning,"
which contains photographs and a cross-section of the final design.
Wright, Sylvia Hart. "Phillips Exeter Academy Library; Exeter, N.H., 1972."
In Highlights of Recent American Architecture: A Guide to Contemporary
Architects and Their Leading Works Completed 1945-1978. Metuchen, NJ:
The Scarecrow Press, 1982 (p. 66).
A short description of the Library: notes by managers, engineers, contractor.