Skip to main content

U.S. History, 1945-1960 -- Post-War America -- History 430: Primary Sources

Primary Sources in Reference Books

Types of Primary Sources

  • Autobiography
  • Diaries/Journals
  • Letters
  • Speeches
  • Government Documents
  • Magazines/Newspaper Articles
  • Manuscripts
  • Treaties

Primary Sources in Biblion

1.  Choose KEYWORD search for your topic and the type of primary source.
     For example: Winthrop, John and letters

2.  Choose AUTHOR search for items written by your topic.
     For example: Winthrop, John

Primary Sources in Library Databases

Internet Primary Sources

The Avalon Project: The Cold War - Yale Law School - An extensive collection of government documents from the time of the Cold War.

Cold War International History Project - Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars - Materials from Central and Eastern European archives that provide the Communist perspective on the Cold War.

Digital Public Library - "DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States." The DPLA portal allows you to search digital collections from institutions and organizations such as Hathi Trust, Internet Archive, the Smithsonian, the National Archives, Boston Public Library and more.

HathiTrust - HathiTrust is a partnership of academic libraries and research institutions that have come together to build and share a digital repository of print works. The HathiTrust Digital Library has "more than 10 million volumes, making it one of the largest research library collections in the world.  Over 3 miillion of these volumes are in the public domain and fully viewable online."

Internet Archive - The Internet Archive hosts one of the largest collections of freely available digital content on the Web and includes digitized print books, audio files, moving images and, by means of the Wayback Machine, cached copies of websites.

Korean War - Harry S. Truman Library & Museum - Examines the Korean War through the eyes of individual participants in policy development, battlefield combatants, and observers.