Skip to main content

U.S. History, 1960-1975 -- The Sixties & Vietnam War -- History 430: Primary Sources

Primary Sources in Reference Books

Types of Primary Sources

  • Autobiography
  • Diaries/Journals
  • Letters
  • Speeches
  • Government Documents
  • Magazines/Newspaper Articles
  • Manuscripts
  • Treaties

Primary Sources in Biblion

1.  Choose KEYWORD search for your topic and the type of primary source.
     For example: Kennedy, John F. and letters

2.  Choose AUTHOR search for items written by your topic.
     For example: Kennedy, John F.

Primary Sources in Library Databases

Internet Primary Sources

1968: The Whole World Was Watching – Brown University – An oral history project that features recollections of events and issues in 1968.

African American Odyssey: The Civil Rights Era – Library of Congress – Selected photos and documents on desegregation and the civil rights movement.

Cold War International History Project – Wilson Center – Materials related to the Cold War from both Eastern and Western perspectives, including biographies, pamphlets, conference proceedings, legal documents, and other primary source materials.

Digital Public Library - "DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States." The DPLA portal allows you to search digital collections from institutions and organizations such as Hathi Trust, Internet Archive, the Smithsonian, the National Archives, Boston Public Library and more.

Documents from the Women’s Liberation Movement – Duke University – An online collection that highlights various aspects of the Women’s Liberation Movement and the radical origins of the movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s.

HathiTrust - HathiTrust is a partnership of academic libraries and research institutions that have come together to build and share a digital repository of print works. The HathiTrust Digital Library has "more than 10 million volumes, making it one of the largest research library collections in the world.  Over 3 million of these volumes are in the public domain and fully viewable online."

Internet Archive - The Internet Archive hosts one of the largest collections of freely available digital content on the Web and includes digitized print books, audio files, moving images and, by means of the Wayback Machine, cached copies of websites.

The Wars for Viet Nam: 1945 to 1975 – Vassar College – An overview of the war and numerous official documents.