Skip to main content

Lamont Poetry Series: Lamont Poets

2016 Lamont Poet

Photo credit: Sigrid Estrada

Phillis Levin
Spring 2016 Lamont Poet

Reading at Assembly Hall
April 13, 7:30pm

Award-winning poet Phillis Levin is the author of five volumes of poetry, Temples and Fields (1988); The Afterimage (1995); Mercury (2001); May Day (2008); Mr. Memory & Other Poems (2016); and the editor of The Penguin Book of the Sonnet (2001).  Her many honors include the Poetry Society of America’s Norma Farber First Book Award for 1988; fellowships to The MacDowell Colony, Yaddo, and The Liguria Study Center in Bogliasco, Italy; and the 2006 Richard Hugo Prize from Poetry Northwest. She is the recipient of a 1986 Ingram Merrill Grant, a 1995 Fulbright Scholar Award to Slovenia, the 1999 Amy Lowell Poetry Travelling Scholarship, and a 2003 Fellowship from the Guggenheim Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Since 1998 she has directed the Campbell Corner Poetry Prize and previously served as Guest Poetry Co-editor for the 2009 Pushcart Prize XXXIII Best of the Small Presses. Ms. Levin is a professor of English and the Poet-in-Residence at Hofstra University.

Lamont Poetry Series

The Lamont Fund, established in 1982 by Corliss Lamont, Class of 1920, and Jacquelyn Thomas, former Corliss Lamont (1902-1995)Academy Librarian, supports the Academy Library's Lamont Poetry Series. Two poets are invited each year to give readings of their poetry and to attend English classes.

The first Lamont Poet, on April 27, 1983, was Jorge Luis Borges. He has been followed by more than 50 others, ranging from Denise Levertov and Seamus Heaney to Yusef Komunyakaa and C.K. Williams.

Each visiting poet is photographed and asked to present the library with a manuscript poem. These are then framed and hung in the Special Collections department on the fourth floor of the library. A selection of portraits and manuscripts can also be viewed in the Lamont Poets online exhibit.

Additional Information