Skip to main content

Colonial America -- History 305: Primary Sources

Primary Sources in Reference Books

Types of Primary Sources

  • Autobiography
  • Diaries/Journals
  • Letters
  • Speeches
  • Government Documents
  • Magazines/Newspaper Articles
  • Manuscripts
  • Treaties

Primary Sources in Biblion

1.  Choose KEYWORD search for your topic and the type of primary source.
     For example: Winthrop, John and letters

2.  Choose AUTHOR search for items written by your topic.
     For example: Winthrop, John

Primary Sources in Reference Databases

Internet Primary Sources

The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in America -
The Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and The Digital Media Lab at the University of Virginia Library - Over 1,200 images ... selected from a wide range of sources ... dating from the period of slavery.

Early Americas Digital Archive – University of Maryland – A collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.

The Plymouth Colony Archive Project – University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign – A collection of searchable texts that focuses on Plymouth from 1620 to 1691: includes court records, colony laws, journals, memoirs, and wills.

Religion and the Founding of the American Republic – Library of Congress – A mix of images, primary text, and background information on the role of religion in the European settlements of America.

Salem Witch Trials – University of Virginia – A documentary archive of the Salem witch trials that features court records, personal letters, and maps of the area.

Virtual Jamestown – Virginia Polytechnic Institute & University of Virginia – An exploration of the Jamestown settlement through court records, public records, first-hand accounts, and newspaper advertisements andn articles.