LibGuides: HIS206 Native Peoples of the Americas: Reference Sources

Reference Books

Atlas of the North American Indian
Call Number: R 970.00497 W1643 a, 2000
Chronology of American Indian History
Call Number: R 973.0497 S6993 c, 2007
Encyclopedia of American Indian History
Call Number: R 970.00497 E564
Encyclopedia of Native American Wars and Warfare
Call Number: R 973 E564
Encyclopedia of Native Tribes of North America
Call Number: R 970.004 J635 e
Encyclopedia of North American Indian Wars, 1607-1890
Call Number: R 970.00497 E563
Jamestown Colony: A Political, Social and Cultural History
Call Number: R 973.21 G8725 j
The Encyclopedia of Native American Religions
Call Number: R 299.703 H6693 e, 2000
Treaties with American Indians: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: R 342.7308 T784
Voices of the American Indian Experience
Call Number: R 970.00497 V889

Online Reference Sources

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Portraits of more than 17,000 American men and women.
Portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
Britannica Online - Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Online version of Encyclopedia Britannica.

Gale Virtual Reference Library--A selection of reference e-books from GALE Publishing.

History Database Center
Includes biographies, subject entries, chronologies, primary sources, maps and charts and images.
Salem History
Includes the complete content of Great Lives from History and Great Events from History.

Reference Research Tips

Begin your research by using either the print reference collection on the main floor of the Library or one of the reference databases. A reference source will give you a broad overview of your subject. Use the table of contents or index to find articles with information on your topic. Also, see if the article has a bibliography, which can give you some great leads to other sources.