Skip to main content

ENG 578: Children's Literature: Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal is announced each year in January by the American Library Association.

Illustrating Caldecott Books

Created by as part of the Caldecott Medal 75th Anniversary celebration, and debuted at the 2013 Newbery/Caldecott/Wilder banquet (June 2013), enjoy personal peaks into the studios of 3 Medalists (David Wiesner, Leo & Diane Dillons, and Kevin Henkes), and then see beautiful first-edition covers of all 76 Caldecott Medal-winning books (generously scanned by KT Horning and the Children's Cooperative Book Center). Under this montage of book covers are audio tracks of 25 of the recipients sharing brief insights into their creative process. Have fun identifying these Caldecott Medal-winning illustrators.

Caldecott Medal Books: Current-1990