LibGuides: English 578: Children's Literature: Home

E-Books & Audiobooks

Sora by OverDrive
Download the Sora App on your phone or tablet to read/listen to these audiobooks and ebooks. Use this brief guide to get you started.

Audiobooks

Charlotte's Web (3 hours, 34 minutes)
Narrated by E.B. White
Charlotte's Web (4 hours, 2 minutes)
Brought to life by Meryl Streep and a full cast.
The Phantom Tollbooth (4 hours, 41 minutes)
Read by Rainn Wilson.
The New Kid (1 hour, 58 minutes)
An original full-cast audio adaptation. An Audie Award finalist.
Gracefully Grayson (5 hours, 36 minutes)
Narrated by Emily Beresford.

E-Books

Children's Book Week

Children's Book Week sponsored by the Children's Book Council

Articles

"Answering Kids’ Questions About the Coronavirus, in Free Picture Books"
Publishers and nonprofits are finding ways to get books and information to housebound children worldwide. -- From New York Times
"As Classic Novels Get Revised for Today’s Readers, a Debate About Where to Draw the Line"
Alter, Alexandra and Elizabeth A. Harris. The New York Times. April 5, 2023.
Note: If you are hitting a paywall, sign up for a free NYT Times PEA student account or access a text only version here.
"Banned Bunnies"
Greenlee, Cynthia. The New York Times. April 26, 2023.
Note: If you are hitting a paywall, sign up for a free NYT Times PEA student account or access a text only version here.
Broken Kingdom: Fifty Years of the Phantom Tollbooth
New Yorker, October 17, 2011.
"The Gay History of America’s Classic Children’s Books"
Please note that this link may no longer work. If so please use alternative access via link below.
Green, Jesse. New York Times, Feb 07 2019.
Books mentioned in article
"The Gay History of America’s Classic Children’s Books"
This copy of article is available without its original pictures through our ProQuest collections.
Mo Willem's Funny Failures
New Yorker, February 6, 2017. Extra reading & listening on Mo Willems:
Listen to New Yorker's Radio Hour segment on Mo Willems.
Mo Willems official website.
"The Radical Woman Behind 'Goodnight Moon'"
Holmes, Anna. The New Yorker, Feb 07 2022.
Beverly Cleary, 104, Charmer of Young Readers, via Ramona and Pals, Dies
Grimes, William. "Beverly Cleary, 104, Charmer of Young Readers, Via Ramona and Pals, Dies: [Biography]." New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) ed., Mar 27 2021, ProQuest. Web

Charlotte's Web Articles

Some Book! 'Charlotte's Web' Turns 60
NPR piece on E.B. White and Charlotte’s Web.
E.B. White's True Inspiration For 'Charlotte's Web'
WBUR Radio Segment, 14 minutes. Features Michael Sims who writes about White's life in Maine in the book: "The Story of Charlotte's Web: E.B. White's Ecccentric Life in Nature and the Birth of an American Classic."

Dr. Seuss Articles

Six Dr. Seuss Books With Offensive Images Will Be Dropped
Gross, Jenny. "Six Dr. Seuss Books with Offensive Images Will be Dropped: [the Arts/Cultural Desk]." New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) ed., Mar 03 2021, ProQuest. Web. 15 Mar. 2021.
Move to Retire Dr. Seuss Books Stirs a Backlash
Alter, Alexandra, and Elizabeth A. Harris. "Move to Retire Dr. Seuss Books Stirs a Backlash: [National Desk]." New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) ed., Mar 05 2021, ProQuest. Web. 15 Mar. 2021 .

Films on Kanopy

It's Elementary - Talking About Gay Issues in School
Chasnoff, D. Cohen, H. (Director). (1996). New Day Films. Duration: 1 hr, 55 min.
It's Still Elementary: Reexamining LGBT Issues in Schools
Chasnoff, D. (Director). (2007). New Day Films. Duration: 47 minutes.

Find Children's Literature at The Class of 1945 Library

CHILDREN'S COLLECTION - ROCKEFELLER HALL
The Children's Collection is located in Rockefeller Hall. The collection is broken into two parts: picture books for younger readers are located at the front of the building and middle grader readers are near the new books collection. The children's collection contains Newbery and Caldecott award winners as well as additional titles suggested by our students and staff. If you have trouble located a particular title on the shelves, please ask for help at the circulation desk. Please note that the majority of young adult fiction (audience 14-18) are shelved in the general fiction collection on floor 3.

FIND BOOKS USING THE LIBRARY CATALOG

Use the Advanced Search in our library catalog to limit your search to books in the Children's Collection. Use the search box and pull down menus to search by topic, author, title, or subject.

You can also use the following keyword and subject searches to locate children's book by topic or award.

Your Librarian

Beth Rohloff

Email Me

Contact:

Associate Library Director
Phillips Exeter Academy
Class of 1945 Library
Exeter, NH 03833

Text a Librarian: (603) 707-4054

English 578: Children's Literature: Home