LibGuides: HIS410 U.S. History, Colonial Era: 1607-1763: Reference Sources

Reference Books

Early American Civilizations
Call Number: R 973.8 A5123
Colonial America
Call Number: R 973.2 C719
Colonial America to 1763
Call Number: R 973.2 P9862 c
Colonialism
Call Number: R 325.3 C7194
Encyclopedia of American Indian History
Call Number: e-book
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Call Number: e-book
Historical Dictionary of the Puritans
Call Number: R 285.9 P2923 h
Jamestown Colony
Call Number: R 973.21 G8725 j

Online Reference Databases

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Portraits of more than 17,000 American men and women.
Portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

Gale Virtual Reference Library--A selection of reference e-books from GALE Publishing.

History Database Center This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies, subject entries, chronologies, primary sources, maps and charts, and images for American History, World History, American Women's History, African American History and Culture, American Indian History and Culture, and Ancient History and Culture.
Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window
Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought.
Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought.

Salem History
Includes the complete content of Great Lives from History and Great Events from History.

Reference Research Tips

Begin your research by using either the print reference collection on the main floor of the Library or one of the reference databases. A reference source will give you a broad overview of your subject. Use the table of contents or index to find articles with information on your topic. Also, see if the article has a bibliography, which can give you some great leads to other sources.