LibGuides: HIS410 U.S. History, Imperial Crisis and Revolution,1763-1783: Newspapers, Magazines, Journals

Journal Title Finder

Magazines vs. Journals

Magazines: Articles in magazines are usually short in length and are written in a popular style. Examples of magazines that have articles on American history topics are American Heritage and Smithsonian.

Journals: Articles in journals are usually lengthy and are written by scholars and experts in the field. They often have bibliographies and extensive footnotes (which can provide leads to other sources). Examples of journals that have articles on American history topics are Journal of American History and Journal of Southern History.

Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 230 journals
and nearly 100 books. Selective indexing for more than
1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690 - 2000 This link opens in a new window
This collection is comprised of newspapers from around the country, containing articles as they appeared in print, as well as political cartoons, advertisements and obituaries
This collection is comprised of newspapers from around the country, containing articles as they appeared in print, as well as political cartoons, advertisements and obituaries
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
More than 1,000 American magazines and newspapers published between 1741 and 1940.
More than 1,000 American magazines and newspapers published between 1741 and 1940.
Black Life in America, the experience and impact of African Americans as seen through the news media, 1704 - today This link opens in a new window
A collection of international news articles from 1704 to the present covering all aspects of black life in America.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 1000 scholarly journals.
Full text of more than 1,000 scholarly journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Online, not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Online, not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

Periodicals Research Tips

To find primary-source articles in American Periodicals Series Online, make sure you set the date range to a specific year or possibly a span of several years.
When looking for scholarly journal articles in JSTOR, you may want to check the "Article" box, so that you limit your search to just articles.