Skip to main content

Early Modern Europe, 1350-1660 -- History 302: Books--Remote Learning

WMS Catalog Search

Catalog Search Tips for finding e-books

1. Use the Advanced Search option.

2. Type your search as either a Keyword or Subject.

3. Scroll down to the Format box and choose e-book from the drop-down menu.

Overview vs. Monograph

An Overview is a book which addresses a time period such as Early Modern Europe: An Oxford History. Use the index to find your topic; it may be a chapter or just a few pages. An overview is meant to place your topic within the context of the time and larger world.

A Monograph is a book which addresses your specific topic. If you are researching a person, a monograph could be a biography of the person. If you are researching an event, a monograph might be The Thirty Years War: Europe's Tragedy.

Ebrary's Academic Complete Collection of E-books

Ebrary Logo 

Ebrary (now "Proquest Ebook Central") is a collection of over 130,000 ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with research tools such as personalized bookshelves, highlighting, and note options.  For help with Ebrary see the Proquest Ebook Central User Guide.

ACLS Humanities E-Books

ACLS Ebooks logo

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of over 5,500 books in the humanities recommended and reviewed by scholars. The selected titles are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.

OverDrive

Overdrive - borrow popular ebooks and streaming audio-books from our library's collection. Read anywhere on your phone, tablet or computer. To use on your mobile device, download OverDrive's companion app Sora.

For help setting up the Sora app on your mobile devide see this brief guide.

Open Access E-books

 

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Begun in 2008, the goal of the partnership is to build a comprehensive archive of published literature. HathiTrust has pursued this goal chiefly by digitizing materials like books and journals from major library collections and other partners, such as Google and the Internet Archive.

Please note that although PEA Library is not a member of Hathi Trust, anyone can search and view the full-text content in this collection.

 

   

Description

Open Library is an online project intended to create "one web page for every book ever published". Open Library is a project of the Internet Archive, a nonprofit organization

DescriptioOpen Library is an online project intended to create "one web page for every book ever published". Created by Aaron Swartz, Brewster Kahle, Alexis Rossi, Anand Chitipothu, and Rebecca Malamud, Open Library is a project of the Internet Archive, a nonprofit organization

MUSE logo black

Ebook collections from Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals, through 31 May 2020)
Ohio State University Press (all books and journals, through 30 June 2020)
University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals, through 31 May 2020)
University of North Carolina Press (all books, through 30 June 2020)
Temple University Press (all books, through 30 June 2020)
Vanderbilt University Press (selecfed books, through 31 May 2020)

Google Book Search