Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Reference Sources

Reference Books

Unless otherwise indicated, these sources are shelved in the reference area on the main floor of the Class of 1945 Library.

Subject Guide

Drew Gatto's picture
Drew Gatto
Contact:
(603)777-3308

  Online Reference Sources

To access these databases from off-campus, click here.

Internet Broadway Database – Official database for Broadway theatre information provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre to the present.

Naxos Music Library – Provider of streaming access to the entire Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of recordings. Works are searchable by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre, and descriptive information about the works, artists and composers is included in the database.

Oxford Music Online – Full-text versions of the New Grove Dictionaries of Music.

Oxford Reference Online – Includes more than ten online music encyclopedias. 

OnMusic Dictionary – Alphabetical list of musical terms featuring definitions, musical examples, quizzes and simulations supported by Web media.

 

Reference Research Tips

Begin your research by using either the print reference collection on the main floor of the Library or one of the reference databases. A reference source will give you a broad overview of your subject.  Use the table of contents or index to find articles with information on your topic. Also, see if the article has a bibliography, which can give you some great leads to other sources.