Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: Sound Recordings

Sound Recordings in WMS Catalog

1.  Choose KEYWORD search for a sound recording of a specific genre or style of music.
     For example: Zydeco or string quartet

2.  Choose AUTHOR search for recordings of music written by a composer or performed by an individual musician or musical group.
     For example: Brahms, Johannes or Rolling Stones

(Music searches in WMS tend to retrieve a mixture of books, recordings and sheet music. To group all sound recordings together in your search results, select Music CD from the Format menu on the left side of the search results screen.   

Class of 1945 Library CD Area

Sound Recordings in Library Databases

Naxos Music Library – Provider of streaming access to the entire Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of recordings. Works are searchable by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre, and descriptive information about the works, artists and composers is included in the database.

Reference Books for Sound Recordings

Subject Guide

Drew Gatto's picture
Drew Gatto
Contact:
(603)777-3308

Internet Sound Recording Sources

 

American Music Center Online Database – Digital database that contains over 57,000 works by more than 6,000 composers, and includes over 14,000 media samples (recordings and scores).

Classical Connect –  Virtual concert hall featuring recordings of classical music, uploaded by independent musicians. Requires registration.

Pandora Internet Radio –  Internet radio station enables the creation of musical playlists based on user-defined preferences. Includes fee-based content. 

YouTube – Streaming video database featuring musical performances in all genres and styles.