Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Comprehensive database includes information about artists, albums and songs from a variety of musical styles.
Streaming Audio and Video
Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.
The Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection (Johns Hopkins University)
Browse over 30,000 pieces of American popular music from as early as 1780.
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, ca. 1870 to 1885 (Library of Congress)
Consists of over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870 to 1885. Included are popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.
Alexander Street Press Open Music Library
Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library
brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections.
Jazz and Popular Music Subject Headings
Monthly magazine focusing on jazz, blues and popular music.
Quarterly journal includes traditional and contemporary folk songs, feature articles on folk music artists, and extensive CD reviews.
Monthly magazine covering all aspects of the modern jazz industry.
Jazz on the Tube
Annotated and indexed online collection of jazz videos.
Comprehensive listing of jazz terminology with definitions, published by the Center for Jazz Studies, Columbia University.
Society for American Music: Popular Music Resources
List of annotated links to web resources related to jazz, blues, country, ragtime, rhythm and blues, rock, folk, bluegrass, new age, and hip hop music.
Album Liner Notes
Largest archive of liner notes on the Web, with a focus on jazz and popular recordings.