LibGuides: HIS307 Modern India: Magazines & Journals

Journal Title Finder

Magazines vs. Journals

Magazines: Articles in magazines are usually short in length and are written in a popular style. An example of a magazine that has articles on Indian history is
History Today.

Journals: Articles in journals are usually lengthy and are written by scholars and experts in the field. They often have bibliographies and extensive footnotes (which can provide leads to other sources). Examples of journals that have articles on Indian history are Journal of Modern History and English Historical Review.

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
More than 4500 magazines and scholarly journals.
More than 4,700 full-text magazines and scholarly journals.
Black Life in America, the experience and impact of African Americans as seen through the news media, 1704 - today This link opens in a new window
A collection of international news articles from 1704 to the present covering all aspects of black life in America.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-Present.

India Today
Academy Library has this title in paper for the last 5 years.
JSTOR
Full text of more than 1,000 scholarly journals.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Online, not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for pre-1980 New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, Pittsburgh Courier, Boston Globe, New York Tribune, and Chicago Defender.
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, Pittsburgh Courier, Boston Globe, New York Tribune, and Chicago Defender.
ProQuest Research Library Prep This link opens in a new window
2,000 magazines and scholarly journals. Also the New York Times (1980 on), Wall Street Journal (1984 on), 40 other newspapers and news services.
2,000 magazines and scholarly journals. Also the New York Times (1980 on), Wall Street Journal (1984 on), 40 other newspapers and news services.
Times of London Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from 1785-1985.
Full-text searching across more than 7 million articles dating from 1785 through 1985.

HIS307 Modern India: Magazines & Journals

Journal Title Finder

Magazines vs. Journals

Databases

Google Scholar Search