LibGuides: HIS200 The World in the 20th Century (Famous Person Project): Newspapers, Magazines, Journals

Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, Pittsburgh Courier, Boston Globe, New York Tribune, and Chicago Defender.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes: Biology Database, Canadian Newsstream,Computing Database
Education Database, Global Breaking Newswires,Psychology Database, Religion Database, Research Library, Science Database,
Social Science Database, and
US Newsstream
Times of London Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across more than 7 million articles dating from 1785 through 1985.

Magazines

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
More than 4,700 full-text magazines and scholarly journals.
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
More than 1,000 American magazines and newspapers published between 1741 and 1940.

Journals

JSTOR - Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 1,000 scholarly journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Online, not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

Magazines vs. Journals

Magazines: Articles in magazines are usually short in length and are written in a popular style. Examples of respectable magazines that might have articles on your topic include Foreign Policy, Current History and Time.

Journals: Articles in journals are usually lengthy and are written by scholars and experts in the field. They often have bibliographies and extensive footnotes (which can provide leads to other sources). Examples of journals that have articles on your country are Journal of Third World Studies and Journal of African History.