Skip to Main Content

Library Instruction: Information Literacy Instruction

Library Instruction Sessions

The Instruction Librarian, in coordination with the Library Liaisons, works with faculty to develop sessions focuses on students' information literacy needs. These sessions can be structured as workshops focused on a specific research task or can provide an overview of library resources. The Instruction Menu on this page suggests topics that might be addressed in an instruction session. Faculty are encouraged to reach out to the Instruction Librarian or their Library Liaison directly to develop a customized instruction plan to better meet their needs.

To book one or more of the menu options, please send an email to Kate Lennon Walker, Instruction Librarian or the Library Liaison for your department with the date and format(s), the instruction session(s), and the assignment.

Introductory Sessions

Basic Introduction to the Library

  • Brief overview of collections & circulation policies.
  • How the library is organized.
  • How to access course-specific Research Guides.
  • How to access research help from librarians.
 45 minutes

Library Catalog Basics

  • Difference between catalog, databases, and open web searches.
  • Use keywords to find books on a topic.
  • Utilize Subject Headings.
  • Limit searches by format.
  • Sort results (by author, title, date).
  • How to access eBooks.
  • How to find a print book.
 20-25 minutes

Introduction to Database Searching

  • Difference between catalog, databases, and open web searches.
  • Keyword searching.
  • Decipher results.
  • Use initial results to expand search strategy.
  • Narrow, broaden, refine results.
  • Citation tools.
 25-30 minutes

Introduction to Types of Sources

  • Scholarly vs. popular vs. trade publications.
  • Primary vs. secondary vs. reference.
 10-15 minutes

Ethical Use of Information

  • Identify when and why sources must be cited.
  • Introduction to citation style needed for the assignment.
  • Online citation tools.
 20 minutes

 

Advanced Sessions

Develop a research strategy

  • Define and redefine a research question or paper topic.
  • Identify keywords.
  • Select and access relevant databases.
 20 minutes

Specialized Database Searching

  • Quick recap of points in Introduction to Database Searching.
  • Find specialized or discipline specific databases.
  • Advanced queries using Boolean operators.
  • Utilize database features such as folders and saving results.
 30 minutes, add 10 minutes for additional databases.

Track the Literature

  • Interpret citations in the original article/book's reference list.
  • Locate the full text or book from a citation in the reference list.
 15 minutes

Locate Primary Sources

  • Review points in Introduction to Types of Sources.
  • Identify characteristics between primary and secondary sources.
  • Strategies for locating primary sources using the library catalog, newspaper/magazine databases, tips for searching online for digitized primary sources.
 20 minutes

 

Library Liaisons

Department Librarian Liaison
Art

Drew Gatto
Contact: agatto@exeter.edu
Classics

Abby Payeur
Contact: apayeur@exeter.edu

English

 Beth Rohloff
Contact: brohloff@exeter.edu
Health and Human Development Laura Wood
Contact: lwood@exeter.edu
History Kate Lennon Walker
Contact: klennonwalker@exeter.edu
Math Melinda Dolan
Contact: mdolan@exeter.edu
Modern Languages Abby Payeur
Contact: apayeur@exeter.edu
Music Drew Gatto
Contact: agatto@exeter.edu
Physical Education Magee Lawhorn
Contact: mlawhorn@exeter.edu
Religion, Ethics, & Philosophy Laura Wood
Contact: lwood@exeter.edu
Science Melinda Dolan
Contact: mdolan@exeter.edu
Theater & Dance Drew Gatto
Contact: agatto@exeter.edu