Skip to main content

Academy Library's Guide for Online Teaching/Learning: Ebooks

A snapshot of helpful library resources for Canvas courses.

National Emergency Library

Ebrary / Ebook Central

Ebrary Logo 

Ebrary (now "Proquest Ebook Central") is a collection of over 130,000 ebooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with research tools such as personalized bookshelves, highlighting, and note options.  For help with Ebrary see the Proquest Ebook Central User Guide.

The Hathi Trust

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Begun in 2008, the goal of the partnership is to build a comprehensive archive of published literature. HathiTrust has pursued this goal chiefly by digitizing materials like books and journals from major library collections and other partners, such as Google and the Internet Archive.

Please note that although PEA Library is not a member of Hathi Trust, anyone can search and view the full-text content in this collection.

Open Libraries Initiative

OverDrive

Overdrive - borrow popular ebooks and streaming audio-books from our library's collection. Read anywhere on your phone, tablet or computer. To use on your mobile device, download OverDrive's companion app Sora.

For help setting up the Sora app on your mobile devide see this brief guide.

JSTOR Open Ebooks

https://about.jstor.org/whats-in-jstor/books/open-access-books-jstor/

More than 6,000 Open Access ebooks from 75+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users