LibGuides: HIS577 A History of Modern Africa: Books and Articles

Africa Reference

Encyclopedia of African History
Call Number: R 960.03 E564
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture
Call Number: R 960.03 E563, 2005
New Encyclopedia of Africa
Call Number: E-book

WMS Catalog Search

Sample Search

1. To get the best results when searching for books in the library choose the BOOKS search tab to limit your search to print and e-books only.

2. To find a print book listed in your search results, note the floor location and be sure to use the entire call number to find it on the shelf.

3. For ebooks just simply click on the link to begin reading this book in full-text online.

Newspaper/Magazine/Journal Databases

Black Life in America, the experience and impact of African Americans as seen through the news media, 1704 - today This link opens in a new window
A collection of international news articles from 1704 to the present covering all aspects of black life in America.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
Includes: Biology Database, Canadian Newsstream,Computing Database
Education Database, Global Breaking Newswires,Psychology Database, Religion Database, Research Library, Science Database,
Social Science Database, and
US Newsstream
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, Pittsburgh Courier, Boston Globe, New York Tribune, and Chicago Defender.
Times of London Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching across more than 7 million articles dating from 1785 through 1985.
Africa Knowledge Project This link opens in a new window
Dedicated exclusively to the academic research on Africa and the African Diaspora
The ARC Knowledge Project publishes and disseminates critical research and peer-reviewed articles plus folktales, music, and video from a growing range of academic disciplines. Dedicated exclusively to the academic research on Africa and the African Diaspora, the knowledge project is a centralized virtual repository that functions both as a publishing and distribution platform.
JSTOR - Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 1,000 scholarly journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Online, not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press.