LibGuides: Economics: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

21st Century Economics
Call Number: R 330 T9714
The American Economy
Call Number: R 330.973 A5124
Bulls, Bears, Boom, and Bust: A Historical Encyclopedia of American Business Concepts
Call Number: R 330.973 D6355 b
Concise Encyclopedia of Economics
Call Number: R 330.03 C7444. 2008
The Concise Encyclopedia of the Great Recession, 2007-2012
Call Number: R 330.905 R8132 c
Encyclopedia of Capitalism
Call Number: R 330.03 E562
Encyclopedia of the Global Economy
Call Number: R 330.03 O184 e
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History
Call Number: R 330.973 G1512
The World Economy, Historical Statistics
Call Number: R 330.9 M179 w

Reference Research Tips

Begin your research by using either the print reference collection on the main floor of the Library or one of the reference databases.

A reference source will give you a broad overview of your subject.

Use the table of contents or index to find articles with information on your topic.

Look to see if the article has a bibliography, which can give you some great leads to other sources.

Online Reference Sources

American National Biography
Portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
Portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
Britannica Online - Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Online version of Encyclopedia Britannica.
Country Reports This link opens in a new window
Entirely online, Country Reports offers more than 35,000 pages of content on the countries of the world. The cultural, historical and statistical information has proven to be valuable to students, parents, teachers, and researchers alike.
Entirely online, Country Reports offers more than 35,000 pages of content on the countries of the world. The cultural, historical and statistical information has proven to be valuable to students, parents, teachers, and researchers alike.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the print weekly reports from CQ Researcher on current international issues, articles dating back to 1991.
Online version of the print weekly reports from CQ Researcher on current international issues, articles dating back to 1991.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Online version of 60-volume set. Over 57,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003.
Over 57,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the present. Updated three times a year.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
"Online access to the worlds most trusted reference collection."
More than 175 full-text reference books on a variety of subjects.