LibGuides: HIS430 U.S. History, The Sixties & Vietnam War, 1960-1975: Newspapers, Magazines, Journals

Journal Title Finder

Magazines vs. Journals

Magazines: Articles in magazines are usually short in length and are written in a popular style. Examples of magazines that have articles on American history topics are American Heritage and Smithsonian.

Journals: Articles in journals are usually lengthy and are written by scholars and experts in the field. They often have bibliographies and extensive footnotes (which can provide leads to other sources). Examples of journals that have articles on American history topics are Journal of American History and Journal of Southern History.

Women's Style Magazines

Women's Magazine Archive--ProQuest

Ebony

Jet

Life

Ms.: Print copies on floor 2

Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from pre-history to present. Indexing for more than 1,700 journals published from 1964 to present. Full text coverage of more than 230 journals.
Full-text coverage of more than 230 journals
and nearly 100 books. Selective indexing for more than
1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690 - 2000 This link opens in a new window
This collection is comprised of newspapers from around the country, containing articles as they appeared in print, as well as political cartoons, advertisements and obituaries
This collection is comprised of newspapers from around the country, containing articles as they appeared in print, as well as political cartoons, advertisements and obituaries
Black Life in America, the experience and impact of African Americans as seen through the news media, 1704 - today This link opens in a new window
A collection of international news articles from 1704 to the present covering all aspects of black life in America.
Ethnic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
More than 130 searchable newspapers published by members of many of the most influential American ethnic groups in 25 U.S. states.
African-American, Hispanic and European-American Ethnic Newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-Present.
Over 30 full-text titles, focusing on African American, Hispanic American, and Native American presses from 1959-Present.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service This link opens in a new window
An archive of 20th Century news from around the world.
Global views on United States foreign and domestic policy after World War II.
Covers the Cold War, China, Africa, the Middle East, Latin America, the Soviet Union, and more
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Diverse publications dating back to 1970 that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Diverse publications dating back to 1970 that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 1000 scholarly journals.
Full text of more than 1,000 scholarly journals.
Nation Archive This link opens in a new window
The Nation magazine, 1865 on.
The Nation magazine, 1865 on.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Online, not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Online, not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Defender, Atlanta Daily World, and Pittsburgh Courier.
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, Pittsburgh Courier, Boston Globe, New York Tribune, and Chicago Defender.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexing only (no full-text) for 370 magazines, 1890-1982.
Indexing only (no full text) for 370 magazines, 1890-1982
Times of London Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from 1785-1985.
Full-text searching across more than 7 million articles dating from 1785 through 1985.