LibGuides: HIS550 American Politics and Public Policy: Periodicals

Journal Title Finder

Magazines vs. Journals

Magazines: Articles in magazines are usually short in length and are written in a popular style. Examples of magazines that have articles on American history topics are American Heritage and Smithsonian.

Journals: Articles in journals are usually lengthy and are written by scholars and experts in the field. They often have bibliographies and extensive footnotes (which can provide leads to other sources). Examples of journals that have articles on American history topics are Journal of American History and Journal of Southern History.

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
More than 4,700 full-text magazines and scholarly journals.
More than 4,700 full-text magazines and scholarly journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 1000 scholarly journals.
Full text of more than 1,000 scholarly journals.
Nation Archive This link opens in a new window
The Nation magazine, 1865 on.
The Nation magazine, 1865 on.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Online, not-for-profit scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
ProQuest Research Library Prep This link opens in a new window
3,300 full text magazines and scholarly journals. Also the New York Times (1980 on), Wall Street Journal (1984 on), 40 other newspapers and news services.
2,000 magazines and scholarly journals. Also the New York Times (1980 on), Wall Street Journal (1984 on), 40 other newspapers and news services.