A guide to the Academy Library's collection of books, periodicals, audiovisual materials and Web sites on stagecraft (theatrical design and production).
The American Theatre Archive Project (ATAP) supports theater makers in archiving records of their work for the benefit of artists, scholars, patrons, and the public.
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.
The MIT Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.
interactive resource providing definitions to ballet terms along with related multimedia. Includes 170 terms from Dover Publications' Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet, which are demonstrated by ABT Company dancers.
The list of America's Irreplaceable Dance Treasures is intended to heighten public interest in America's dance heritage and the imperative to document and preserve it for future generations.
The Jerome Robbins Dance Division of The New York Public Library is the largest and most comprehensive archive in the world devoted to the documentation of dance, chronicling the art of dance in all its forms.
This collection consists of moving image materials that document the life and career of Katherine Dunham. It includes photographs from the Library of Congress, The Missouri Historical Society, and Southern Illinois University; film and videotape excerpts from Dunham's research and performing career; and selections from the Library's Dunham Legacy Project that documented the Dunham dance technique.
Volume 27 of the JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance features native American traditions of North America, including Inuit drum dances, Canadian Haida totem pole ceremony and potlatch and songs and dances of the Kwakiutl; also included are numerous Nez Perce ceremonial and memorial songs, war dance, and soup dance songs; a Flathead hoop dance; Yakima women's songs, a Shoshone hoop dance and war dance. This video is part of the 30-volume JVC Video Anthology of Music and Dance of the World.
Numeridanse is a multimedia dance platform that offers free access to a unique video base: filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions and dance videos.
The American Alliance for Theatre & Education serves and inspires a growing collective of theatre artists, educators, and scholars committed to transforming young people and communities through the theatre arts..
The American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) is a U.S.-based professional organization that fosters scholarship on worldwide theatre and performance, both historical and contemporary.
The Educational Theatre Association (EdTA) is a national nonprofit organization whose mission is to shape lives through theatre education by honoring student achievement in theatre and enriching their theatre education experience; supporting teachers by providing professional development, networking opportunities, resources, and recognition; and influencing public opinion that theatre education is essential and builds life skills.
NDEO provides professional development, networking forums, honor societies, journals, research and advocacy tools for teachers, administrators and students in the field of dance arts education.
Online pathfinder designed for people who are interested in the backstage aspects of theatre, including set/scenery design, lighting design, make-up, costumes, and sound design. The guide is divided into online sources (websites, mailing lists, newsgroups) and print sources.
