LibGuides: Committee to Study Slavery & Its Legacy at Exeter--Resources: Home

Academy Library Databases

African American Newspapers
Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690 - 2000 This link opens in a new window
This collection is comprised of newspapers from around the country, containing articles as they appeared in print, as well as political cartoons, advertisements and obituaries

Ancestry Classroom
Accessible only when on campus

Black Life in America, the experience and impact of African Americans as seen through the news media, 1704 - today This link opens in a new window
A collection of international news articles from 1704 to the present covering all aspects of black life in America.
Exonian This link opens in a new window
The full-text archive of the Exonian newspaper.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily World, Pittsburgh Courier, Boston Globe, New York Tribune, and Chicago Defender.

Databases Outside PEA

Boston Public Library
Research Your African American Ancestors
Find A Grave
Hathi Trust
18+ million digitized items from academic and research libraries
Internet Archive
Digital library of Internet sites and other cultural items in digital form.
Northeast Slavery Records Index
The Robertson Project
National Archives--Resources for Genealogists

PEA Archival Resources

Phillips Exeter Academy Deed of Gift

Campus Maps collection (E Z M297)
The Gilman Family papers
Golden Branch, oldest society
- Speeches delivered to Golden Branch (E 373.7Tds G618 ad)
- Correspondence (E 373.7Tds G618 co)
- Records (E 373.7Tds G618)
John Kelly papers (E G K29)
John Phillips collection (EA P561)
John Phillips family tree
Treasurer papers
- Office of the Treasurer. Account books, cash books, etc. 1784-1851 (E D12)
- Office of the Treasurer. Account books, cash books, etc. 1842-1883 (E D 12)
- Treasurer's Office Invoices and receipts, 1884-1888; 1842-1888 (E RG SG Ser. D30)
- Treasurer's Office. Salary Receipts, 1850-90, S-Z (E D 131)
- Office of the Treasurer. Reports, 1828-1842 (2 v.) (E D 11)
- Office of the Treasurer. Reports 1795; 1800-29; 1862-85 (E D 11)
Trustee papers (PEA 005)
Trustee deeds (E Bd)

Archives and Historical Societies

An appointment will likely be required in order to view the records at Archives and Historical Societies.

Andover History Center

Dartmouth College Archives

Exeter Historical Society

Exeter Town Clerk--Vital Records

Portsmouth Historical Society

Memorial Hall Library

New Hampshire Historical Society

New Hampshire Secretary of State--Vital Records Administration

Other Digital Resources

Chase, Jr., Edward. Early Exeter History, 1638-1887.

Crosbie, Laurence. The Phillips Exeter Academy: A History.

Phillips Academy Archives - Phillips Family papers finding aid

Interlibrary Loan

The Library may be able to request published ephemera from other libraries including older newspapers not digitized. Sometimes we can ask for scanned copies. Newspapers are usually on reels of microfilm. Use ILL form to submit requests.