Skip to main content

Lamont Poetry Series: Lamont Poets

Fall 2019 Lamont Poet

Lamont Poet Arthur Sze
Reading at Assembly Hall
Wednesday, November 6th

Phillips Exeter Academy  opens its 2019-2020 Lamont Poetry Series on Wednesday November 6th with a reading by award-winning poet and translator Arthur Sze

Sze is the author of nine books of poetry, including Compass Rose (2014); The Ginkgo Light (2009); Quipu (2005); and The Redshifting Web (1998). He is also the translator of The Silk Dragon: Translations from the Chinese and editor of Chinese Writers on Writing.  Sze has received numerous awards and honors, including an American Book Award, a Lannan Literary Award for Poetry, a Lila Wallace-Reader's Digest Writers' Award, a Western States Book Award for Translation, grants from the Witter Bynner Foundation for Poetry, and fellowships from the Howard Foundation, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts.  He is a professor emeritus at the Institute of American Indian Arts and was the first poet laureate of Sante Fe, Mexico, where he resides.


The reading will be held in the Assembly Hall, located on the second floor of the Academy Building on Front Street. The event is free and open to the public.

Photo credit:  Mariana Cook

Lamont Poetry Series

The Lamont Fund, established in 1982 by Corliss Lamont, Class of 1920, and Jacquelyn Thomas, former Academy Librarian, supports the Academy Library's Lamont Poetry Series. Two poets are invited each year to give readings of their poetry and to attend English classes.

The first Lamont Poet, on April 27, 1983, was Jorge Luis Borges. He has been followed by more than 50 others, ranging from Denise Levertov and Seamus Heaney to Yusef Komunyakaa and C.K. Williams. 
Each visiting poet is photographed and asked to present the library with a manuscript poem. These are then framed and hung in the Special Collections department on the fourth floor of the library.


Additional Information