LibGuides: HIS200 The World in the 20th Century: Reference Sources

General Encyclopedias

Colonialism
Call Number: R 325.3 C7194
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Call Number: E-book

Africa

Encyclopedia of African History
Call Number: R 960.03 E564
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture
Call Number: R 960.03 E563, 2005
New Encyclopedia of Africa
Call Number: E-book

Latin America

Encyclopedia of Latin America
Call Number: R 980 E563
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: R 980.003 E56, 2008

South Asia

Southeast Asia
Call Number: R 959.003 S7273

Online Reference Sources

History Database Center This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies, subject entries, chronologies, primary sources, maps and charts, and images for American History, World History, American Women's History, African American History and Culture, American Indian History and Culture, and Ancient History and Culture.

Issues & Controversies
In-Depth Investigations into Todays Top Issues.

Salem History This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete content of Milestone Documents, The Decades (an American history series), Great Lives from History (worldwide coverage), and Great Events from History (worldwide coverage).

Reference Research Tips

Begin your research by using either the print reference collection on the main floor of the Library or one of the reference databases. A reference source will give you a broad overview of your subject. Use the table of contents or index to find articles with information on your topic. Also, see if the article has a bibliography, which can give you some great leads to other sources.